THE SMALL CHURCH
The small church of the Savina monastery is dedicated to the feast of the Dormition of the Most Holy Theotokos, and according to the tradition it originates from the 11th century, more precisely in the year 1030. It was rebuilt during the rule of Herceg Stefan Vukčić Kosača, when the frescoes were partially painted. The frescoes were painted by zograph Lovro Dobricevic from Kotor. The frescoes were also painted in 1565 and the church was renovated in 1831.
THE CHURCH OF SAINT SAVA
It is located on a hill above the monastery yard and is dedicated to Saint Sava the Serbian. The foundation of this church was sanctified by Saint Sava himself, devoting it to Saint Sava the Sanctified. It was rebuilt in the 15th century during Kosač's rule and in the 19th century the main entrance was erected. It was painted at the beginning of the 21st century.
THE GREAT CHURCH
The great church dedicated to the Dormition of the Most Holy Theotokos is a monumental building and represents a unique synthesis of different styles - Romanesque, Gothic and Byzantine with elements of Orthodox Baroque. It was being built from 1777 to 1799, and the builders were Korculan master Nikola Foretić and hes associates. Iconostasis is the work of the painter priest Simeon Lazović Bjelopoljac and his son Aleksi and was completed in 1797. The magnificent wood carved ballad (choral gallery) is most likely the work master Paolo Pascuali from Dubrovnik, who is presumed to have done the wood carvings on the iconostasis.